Council-Mayor Form of Government


The Murray City Council has been a separate and equal branch of city government since the City changed to Mayor-Council Form of government in 1981.

The Council is comprised of five members. Each Council Member represents a geographical district of Murray City. Council Members are part-time elected officials who are paid $13,738 per year. Each member serves a four-year term and is elected in a non-partisan election. Each calendar year, the Council elects a new chair and vice chair for the Council and committees.

Main Task

The City Council's main task is the adoption and oversight of Murray City's annual budget. The fiscal year runs from July 1 - June 30. Property and State sales taxes make up the bulk of the General Fund. It is supplemented by franchise taxes, civil fines, and forfeitures. The City Council also oversees the budget of the Murray City Library System.

Other Responsibilities

Other responsibilities for City Council members include introducing legislation, setting City policy, and giving advice and consent on appointments made by the Mayor to the City boards and commissions. The Council also serves as the Board of Directors of the Murray Redevelopment Agency.


The Council employs an executive director and an administrative secretary. Staff members perform a variety of tasks, including working with constituents and researching and analyzing issues pertinent to City policies.


For more information, contact our staff at (801) 264-2603 or view your Council Members.