With Utah’s Clean Slate law, if you have not been convicted of a crime in the last 5 to 7 years, all or part of your criminal record might be automatically expunged. For process information, please access the Clean Slate Utah Website.
For more information on what expungement is and how to expunge your records if they don’t qualify to be automatically expunged under the new law, you may get more information at Utah Courts How To Expunge . The forms you will need to file for expungement may be found at the bottom of this page.
All forms must be present and filled out completely at time of filing. Only sign the Petition. The Acceptance of Service form as well as the Consent and Waiver of Hearing are for the prosecutor to sign and the Order is for the Judge to sign.
The fee for ANY expungement petition is $135, plus an additionalfee for each certified copy needed. There is a $2 fee for court provided expungement forms.
You may file a Motion and Order to Waive Expungement Fees. In order to do this you will need to fill out and present a Motion to Waive Fees and Statement Supporting Motion, and Order on Motion to Waive Fees to the court with your Expungements packet and Certificate of Eligibility that is filled out. The judge will review your motion and if granted, all or some fees will be waived. If denied, you will have 30 days from the date of the judges decision to pay the expungement fees or you may file a Memorandum Demonstration Inability to Pay Fees within 10 days of the judges’ decision. The forms can be found at the bottom of this page.